Slideshow Items

Renee Mussai

Omar Victor Diop

39,00

In stock

In stock

Omar Victor Diop developed an interest in photography at an early age. As a child, he was nurtured by masterpieces of Afro-Caribbean literature, and by characters such as “Segou” by author Maryse Condé, who go from being a “foreigner” to a “notable” in a given society. Omar Victor Diop sees this journey as representative of his own, a journey in which he found himself on the side of minorities who must look to models of adaptation to different contexts and new ways of being.

Omar Victor Diop is distinguished by a work that combines visual arts, fashion and photographic portraiture. He is particularly fond of mixing photography with other art forms, including textile design, fashion design and creative writing to bring his inspiration to life For him, art is the only dialogue that will never cease, a dialogue that is constantly inspired by those who redefine and choose their future life, convinced that it is the only way to get out of the ordinary and leave a real mark on people.

Omar Victor Diop’s work connects the history and modernity of African societies, whether by sublimating their lifestyles or by coloring their self-image: “It has been exactly ten years since I picked up a camera with the intention of showing the struggle of my people, their moments of pride, their altruism, their incredible diversity and their capacity to adapt.”

  • language : EN/FR
  • pages : 96
  • format : 31.8 x 24.3 x 1.8
  • binding : Hardcover
  • ISBN : 978-88-7439-993-2
  • publishers : Cinq Continents
  • you may also like

    by same author

    see everything →

    by same publisher

    see everything →
    Corps - ART BRUT La collection
    You're viewing: Omar Victor Diop 32,00
    Add to cart

Slideshow Items

Renee Mussai

Omar Victor Diop

39,00

En stock

En stock

Omar Victor Diop développe un intérêt pour la photographie dès son plus jeune âge. Enfant, il est nourri par les chefs-d’œuvre de la littérature Afro-Caribéenne, et par des personnages tels que « Ségou » de l’auteur Maryse Condé, qui passent de l’état « d’étranger » à celui de « notable » dans une société donnée. Omar Victor Diop considère ce parcours comme étant représentatif du sien, un parcours au cours duquel il s’est retrouvé du côté des minorités qui doivent prendre exemple sur des modèles d’adaptation à des contextes différents et de nouvelles manières d’être.

Omar Victor Diop se distingue par une œuvre qui combine les arts plastiques, la mode et le portrait photographique. Il affectionne particulièrement le mélange de la photographie avec d’autres formes artistiques, entre autres la création textile, le stylisme et l’écriture créative pour donner vie à son inspiration. Pour lui, l’art est le seul dialogue qui ne cessera jamais, un dialogue qui s’inspire constamment de ceux qui redéfinissent et choisissent leur vie future, convaincus que c’est la seule manière de sortir de l’ordinaire et de laisser une véritable empreinte sur les hommes.

L’œuvre d’Omar Victor Diop fait le lien entre l’histoire et la modernité des sociétés africaines, que ce soit en sublimant leurs styles de vie ou en colorant l’image qu’elles se font d’elles-mêmes : « Cela fait exactement dix ans que j’ai saisi un appareil photo avec l’intention de montrer la lutte de mon peuple, ses moments de fierté, son altruisme, son incroyable diversité et sa capacité d’adaptation ».

  • language : EN/FR
  • pages : 96
  • format : 31.8 x 24.3 x 1.8
  • binding : Couverture rigide
  • ISBN : 978-88-7439-993-2
  • publishers : Cinq Continents
  • ça peut aussi vous intéresser

    du même auteur

    voir tout →

    du même éditeur

    voir tout →