Slideshow Items

Jonas Mekas

I Seem to Live, Diaries (1950-1969), Volume 1


Only 1 left in stock

Only 1 left in stock

I Seem To Live. The New York Diaries, 1950-1969 is Jonas Mekas’ key literary work. This first volume, covering the period 1950-69, was published posthumously a year after his death. It stands on a par with his film work, which he initially developed with his brother Adolfas after their arrival in New York. In 1954, the two brothers founded Film Culture magazine, and in 1958 Jonas began writing a weekly column for The Village Voice. It was during this period that his writing, his films, and his unwavering commitment to the arts began to make him a pioneer of American avant-garde cinema and the barometer of the New York art scene.

  • date of publication : December 2019
  • language : EN
  • pages : 1000 p.
  • format : 21.5 x 16 x 5.4
  • binding : paperback, softcover
  • ISBN : 9783959052887
  • publishers : Spector books
  • you may also like

    by same author

    see everything →

    by same publisher

    see everything →
    You're viewing: I Seem to Live, Diaries (1950-1969), Volume 1 55,00
    Add to cart