Slideshow Items

Christina Wunderlich

Mono Moment—Monospace Type Design

23,50

In stock

In stock

Mono Moment—Monospace Type Design

Monospaced fonts are fascinating! Mono Moment is aimed at type designers typographers and designers, but also at people who are dealing with type design for the first time. The publication thus becomes a reference book and source of inspiration!

Friedrich Nietzsche was probably one of the first to feel the aesthetic appeal of monospaced typefaces. Since he started writing with a typewriter, typefaces, and punctuation have been important to him. In the meantime, we encounter monospaced typefaces regularly in everyday life: in design and in art, in coding, on tax records, or on our ID. f you take a closer look, you will encounter non-proportional typefaces more often than expected.

Monospaced typefaces are defined by their fixed, equal width for all characters. Every character, letter, and number occupies horizontally and vertically the same space. Proportional typefaces, in turn, have harmoniously balanced spaces with variable widths between their characters. The widths are not set proportional. That is why monospaced typefaces are also named non-proportional. What exactly is the attraction of typefaces, whose letters and characters each occupy an equally large space?

Due to the increase in typeface production over the past few decades, almost every well-developed font family also has a mono or semi-mono cut. When searching for the word “monospace” on the World Wide Web, countless entries can be found in addition to the results such as “I am looking for a beautiful monospaced font,” “Top Ten Monospace Fonts,” or “Best Monospace Fonts for Coding.” At a time when it has never been easier to design and publish typefaces, this book provides a good orientation to monospace!

  • date of publication : February 2022
  • language : EN
  • pages : 208
  • format : 24.5 x 15.5 x 2
  • binding : spiral binding, softcover
  • ISBN : 9783948440329
  • publishers : Slanted Publishers
  • you may also like

    by same author

    see everything →

    by same publisher

    see everything →
    Flexible Visual Systems
    You're viewing: Mono Moment—Monospace Type Design 43,50
    Add to cart

Slideshow Items

Christina Wunderlich

Mono Moment—Monospace Type Design

23,50

Rupture de stock

Rupture de stock

Mono Moment—Monospace Type Design

Les polices de caractères monospace sont fascinantes ! Mono Moment s’adresse aux créateurs de caractères, aux typographes et aux designers, mais aussi aux personnes qui abordent la création de caractères pour la première fois. La publication devient ainsi un ouvrage de référence et une source d’inspiration !

Friedrich Nietzsche a probablement été l’un des premiers à ressentir l’attrait esthétique des caractères monospécifiques. Depuis qu’il a commencé à écrire avec une machine à écrire, les caractères et la ponctuation ont été importants pour lui. Entre-temps, nous rencontrons régulièrement des caractères monospécifiques dans la vie quotidienne : dans le design et l’art, dans le codage, sur les dossiers fiscaux ou sur notre carte d’identité. Si vous y regardez de plus près, vous rencontrerez des caractères non proportionnels plus souvent que prévu.

Les caractères monospécifiques sont définis par leur largeur fixe et égale pour tous les caractères. Chaque caractère, lettre et chiffre occupe horizontalement et verticalement le même espace. Les caractères proportionnels, quant à eux, ont des espaces harmonieusement équilibrés avec des largeurs variables entre leurs caractères. Les largeurs ne sont pas fixées de manière proportionnelle. C’est pourquoi les caractères monospécifiques sont également appelés non proportionnels. Quel est exactement l’attrait des polices de caractères dont les lettres et les caractères occupent chacun un espace de taille égale ?

En raison de l’augmentation de la production de caractères au cours des dernières décennies, presque toutes les familles de polices bien développées ont également une coupe mono ou semi-mono. Lorsque l’on recherche le mot “monospace” sur le World Wide Web, on trouve d’innombrables entrées en plus des résultats tels que “Je cherche une belle police monospace”, “Top Ten Monospace Fonts” ou “Best Monospace Fonts for Coding”. À une époque où il n’a jamais été aussi facile de concevoir et de publier des polices de caractères, ce livre constitue une bonne orientation vers le monospace !

  • date of publication : Février 2022
  • language : EN
  • pages : 208
  • format : 24.5 x 15.5 x 2
  • binding : couverture souple, spirale
  • ISBN : 9783948440329
  • publishers : Slanted Publishers
  • ça peut aussi vous intéresser

    du même auteur

    voir tout →

    du même éditeur

    voir tout →
    Flexible Visual Systems
    Vous regardez : Mono Moment—Monospace Type Design 43,50
    Ajouter au panier